Right around Christmas, Joel Moskowitz of Tools for Working Wood wrote a blog post suggesting readers should join the Mid-West Tool Collectors Association. Well I did, and today I attended my first meet. I had alot of fun and got to see some rare tools, and even Mike Siemsen’s School of Wood at work.

I ended up buying a few treasures, despite arriving an hour and a half after the tables had opened for selling. My first treasure was a Stanley Bedrock 606 for $50. It needs some cleaning up, but not much. It’s already dissembled while make my plan. I love the heft of this plane, I hadn’t planned on getting this size, but It’s got alot more weight than my Bailey Jack. I checked the sides for square, and the sole for twist and everything looks good. It’s a corrugated sole, but that really doesn’t matter much to me. I’ll post pics as I begin the restoration.

My favorite find however was something I wasn’t aware of until I got home. I wanted a try square or small square and had been checking them out at every table. About an hour before I left I came across a nice brass and wood square, and it had a nice weight to it. It had a Woodsmith logo on it. I paid my $8 and it was mine. It looked like the Bridge City model I dreamed of making on the cover of the October 2011 issue of Popular Woodworking.

I got home and shared my purchases with my wife, and then pulled out the magazine. It wasn’t just like the Bridge City square, it was exactly like it. Every rivet and screw, even down to the rounded edges of the stock. I did a quick search and found an ebay auction for a set of Woodsmith Bridge City squares, so I knew that they had done custom work before. Holy cow, I just bought a Bridge City TS-2 Master Try Square for $8! Sweet!

I snapped this picture before cleaning it up, and it didnt take much. A quick buff with some steel wool and it shines.

